Make your own free website on


Home | Meet the Staff | Directions | Events & Activities | Contact Us/Prayer Request | History | Videos | Photo Album | Academy | CROP Walk | Bethany is 100! | Oktoberfest

Our History

Original Sanctuary Built in 1907

Original Sanctuary

Bethany's 1st Pastor, The Rev. Gustaf A. Hauck 1907-1946

Bethany began as a German speaking Evangelical and Reformed Christian congregation meeting at The Philadelphia Protestant Home.  In 1907 a church was constructed on the corner of Rising Sun and Magee Avenues.  Bethany's first Pastor, Rev. Gustav Hauck conducted worship services in German. 

During Pastor Weiss' Ministry, The Christian Education Wing was constructed and The Sanctuary was Rebuilt.

Interior of New Sanctuary

Rev. Jeff Stoneseiffer's ministry began at Bethany United Church Of Christ (U.C.C.) which was a result of 4 denominations coming together under one name in 1957.  (Evangelical, Reformed, Congregational, and Christian) 

Bethany's 5th Pastor, The Rev. Nansi H. Hawkins 1992-1997

Rev. Nansi Hawkins was Bethany's first female Pastor.

Bethany's 2nd Pastor, The Rev. Dr. Philip W. Weiss 1946-1977

Rev. Jeff Stoneseiffer 1977-1982

Bethany's 6th Pastor, The Rev. Harry Ray 1997-2001

New Sanctuary (left)
New Christian Education Wing (right)

Rev. William Stone 1984-1990

Rev. William Stone was Bethany's 4th Pastor.  He and his wife, Dorothy are still active participants of Bethany's ministry.

Rev. Harry Ray was a beloved Pastor of Bethany who's term was shortened by a fatal heart attack leaving the congregation in shock and in mourning.

The Rev. Marianne L. Unger Bethany's Seventh Pastor 2003-2012